Ed Carpenter Wins Pole for Indy 500

Robert Laberge/Getty Images(INDIANAPOLIS) — Ed Carpenter took home his second straight pole for the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday.

Carpenter posted a four-lap average of 231.067 mph and was the fasted of nine qualifiers.

“It was a harder run than last year,” Carpenter said. “I knew what the average was, so I was just hanging on. I was surprised last year. Obviously, we felt good this year that we had a chance this year. But it’s all about the race.”

James Hinchcliffe will start second after being knocked out by Carpenter on the final lap. Will Power will join the two on the front row.

Three-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves will be fourth followed by Simon Pagenaud and Marco Andretti.

Defending 500 champion Tony Kanaan starts 16th.

Carpenter finished 10th at last year’s Indianapolis 500 and JR Hildebrand, who drives for Ed Carpenter Racing team, also made the Fast Nine.

Hildebrand is driving the car Carpenter used to win last year’s 500 pole at 228.762 mph.

Follow @ABCNewsRadio
Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather



About the author  ⁄ WFIN

No Comments

Leave a Comment