ELECTION RESULTS: Regional Republicans Easily Win Statehouse Seats

11/7/18 – 5:26 A.M.

Republicans dominated area statehouse races. Incumbent Bill Reineke won re-election with 66 percent of the vote over Democrat Rachel Crooks to represent Ohio’s 88th House District. The 88th includes part of Seneca County and Sandusky County.

Incumbent Theresa Gavarone won re-election over Democrat Aidan Hubbell-Staeble in the 3rd House District, which covers Wood County.

In the 4th House District, which is Allen County, Republican incumbent Robert Cupp won 73 percent of the vote over Democrat Tristam Cheeseman. Cupp has been an Ohio Supreme Court justice, a state senator, an Allen County commissioner, and a Lima prosecutor.

In Ohio’s 81st House District, Republican Jim Hoops took nearly 75 percent of the vote to defeat Democrat Janet Breneman. The district includes Putnam, Henry and Williams counties and the southeast corner of Fulton County.

In the 87th Ohio House District, Republican Riordan McClain won more than 72 percent of the vote, defeating Democrat Mary Pierce-Broadwater. The district includes Wyandot County, the southwest corner of Seneca County and all or part of three other counties.